…to the Chair of Nonferrous Metallurgy of Montanuniversitaet Leoben



CDL Advanced Aluminium Alloyscdl_tm




Here you can read our annual report 2018: _____ magazine or brochure cover mockup




Metaldays 2019
The Department of Metallurgy proudly presents the Metaldays 2019 from 24th to 27th of June in Leoben.

As in previous years, the event will feature “Metals – Comprehension and experience”. It is open for pupils from the age of 16 years from all over Austria. They have the chance to visit the different chairs of the department and some companies in the surrounding area of Leoben as well as to get in contact with students and graduates of the study Metallurgy.

For further information see:


School@MUL 2018

Early in May, the first project days of School@MUL took place at the Montanuniversitaet Leoben. 140 pupils had the possibility to visit the Chair of Non-Ferrous Metallurgy and to execute fascinating experiments. Some of the highlights were the pouring of a small zinc bar, the coating of coins with gold as well as the production of pure copper using an electrolysis. A number of memories and the filled out worksheets will help the 10 to 13 years old kids to keep the project days in mind for a long time.

School@MUL 2017

School@MUL 2017

Georg-Sachs-Preis an Ass.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Stefan Pogatscher verliehen:

Im Rahmen des DGM-Tag am 26.09.2016 in Darmstadt verlieh der Vorsitzende der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Materialkunde, Prof. Dr. Jürgen Hirsch, den Georg-Sachs-Preis an Ass.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Stefan Pogatscher vom Lehrstuhl für Nichteisenmetallurgie. Der Preis wird vom Stifterverband Metalle und dem Fachverband der Metallindustrie Österreichs gemeinsam ausgelobt. Er ist mit 1.500 € dotiert.

Mit dem renommierten Georg-Sachs-Preis werden Arbeiten von Wissenschaftlern unter 40 ausgezeichnet, die vorzugsweise in enger Beziehung zur Praxis der Materialwissenschaft und Werkstofftechnik stehen. Die gewürdigte Arbeit von Stefan Pogatscher ist gekennzeichnet durch die Übertragung grundlagenorientierter Erkenntnisse auf das Design von aushärtenden Aluminiumlegierungen.





The Houska-Prize 2016 was awarded to Ass. Prof. Stefan Pogatscher from the Chair of Nonferrous Metallurgy in the category “Academic Research”. For more information click here.